Single Vineyards Biodynamics Respect

The work of a winegrower is based on his or her vines. Optimal nutrient supply and a functioning soil life are the prerequisites of any top-quality grape material. We therefore decided in 2007 to change to biodynamic viticulture with the help of the expert Dr. Andrew Lorand.

Biodynamics is an art of healing which takes advantage of the holistic curativeness of nature. It aims at strengthening the natural resistance of the plant. Pest and disease control are mainly affected in a prophylactic manner.

We encourage the formation of humus, as a basis of healthy soils, by regularly applying cattle manure which we prepare ourselves and by cultivating grass between the rows. Herbal teas (such as stinging nettle, chamomile, field horsetail … ) and biodynamic field sprays such as horn manure and horn silica are used under the consideration of moon rhythms; their purpose being to strengthen resistance and further the physiological ripeness of grapes.

It is our foremost aim to produce authentic wines with an individual aroma profile while at the same time maintaining healthy soil and vines. Part of this is also the absence of yeasts.

Lagen Biodynamie Respekt

Die Rebanlage stellt für den Winzer die Grundlage seiner Arbeit dar. Optimale Nährstoffversorgung und ein funktionierendes Bodenleben sind die Voraussetzung für qualitativ hochwertige Trauben. Aus diesen Überlegungen haben wir uns 2007 dazu entschlossen, mit Hilfe des Experten Dr. Andrew Lorand auf biologisch-dynamischen Weinbau umzustellen.

Die Biodynamie ist eine Art Heilkunst, die sich der ganzheitlichen Heilkräfte der Natur bedient. Die natürlichen Abwehrkräfte der Pflanze werden gestärkt. Die Schädlings- und Krankheitsbekämpfung erfolgt vorrangig vorbeugend.
Wir fördern den Humusaufbau, die Grundlage eines gesunden Bodens, durch regelmäßiges Einbringen von Rindermistkompost, den wir selbst aufsetzen, und durch Begrünung zwischen den Rebzeilen. Kräutertees (z.B. Brennnessel, Kamille, Ackerschachtelhalm,…) und die biologisch-dynamischen Feldspritzpräparate Hornmist und Hornkiesel kommen unter Berücksichtigung von Mondrhythmen zur Anwendung. Sie helfen dabei die Abwehrkräfte zu stärken und die physiologische Reife der Trauben zu fördern.

Das Ziel ist es, authentische Weine mit einem individuellen Geschmacksprofil zu produzieren und dabei gleichzeitig Böden und Rebstöcke gesund zu erhalten. Dazu gehört für uns auch der Verzicht auf Reinzuchthefen.